



## Results of RESNET Board Electronic Ballot on Authorizing a Communication to the HERS Industry on the RESNET Board's Extension on the Use of Current Versions of HERS Software

June 30, 2016

Shall the RESNET Board of Directors authorize the below draft communication on the extension of the requirement to use the new versions of the HERS software?

To: HERS Industry

The RESNET Board of Directors has adopted ANSI/RESNET/ICC Standard 301-2014, effective July 1, 2016. All RESNET-accredited HERS Rating Software Providers have released versions of their software tools compliant with the new standard. The RESNET National Building Registry will accept ratings calculated with the new software tools starting July 1, 2016.

HERS scores are likely to increase for many homes with the new versions of the software. RESNET has informed the HERS Industry of this probability since 2012. However, the magnitude of the increase in HERS Index scores for each software tool was not available for the industry to consider until very recently.

For this reason, the RESNET Board of Directors has implemented a 6 month transition period. Raters may continue to use currently compliant software versions for new projects during this transition period. Raters must use updated software versions compliant with the new standard for all new projects beginning January 1, 2017.

The RESNET Board of Directors has adopted a new set of software tests to provide greater insight into the impacts of the standards update. The HERS Rating Software Providers have already submitted the results of the new test suite to RESNET. A RESNET Board Analytics Task Group will now review and summarize the new test results. RESNET will share the conclusions from this review with the industry as soon as the Board Analytics Task Group completes its work.

The RESNET Board of Directors

Yes (20)	No (0)	Abstain (0)
( )	( - )	(-)

Ben Adams Jacob Atalla David Beam

Dave Bell Steve Byers Brett Dillon Philip Fairey Matt Gingrich Andy Gordon Roy Honican Cardice Howard Mark Jansen David Goldstein Frank O'Brien-Bernini Lee O'Neal Jim Petersen Nancy St. Hilaire Kelly Stephens Daran Wastchak Barb Yankie

The motion was adopted.